Registration Instructions. Registration Instructions contain CatsWeb registration instructions, dates, fee schedules, instructions on dropping a class or withdrawing, refund schedules, and other information that will be needed throughout the semester. This information, along with the most current class offerings, is available at www.txstate.edu/registrar.
Academic Advising. Texas State encourages all students to seek academic advising before each registration and at other times when academic questions arise. In some departments, schools, or colleges and for some students, this advising may be mandatory. Students who are undecided about their major are advised through the University College, others through their major department or school and/or in the appropriate college advising center. Advisors help students understand academic requirements and plan schedules to meet those requirements as well as address the choice of majors and career preparation issues. http://www.rrc.txstate.edu/resources/osc/acadadvising.html
Correct Data. All students are responsible for making certain Texas State has correct demographic data. Changes in name, local and/or permanent address, telephone number, marital status, etc. should be reported immediately to the Registrar’s Office. Texas State is not responsible for loss of correspondence credits due to unreported name changes. To see more information on address changes go to http://www.registrar.txstate.edu/our-services/address-change.html.
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA). FERPA protects the privacy of educational records, establishes the right of students to inspect and review their educational records, and provides guidelines for the correction of inaccurate or misleading data. Students also have the right to file complaints with the FERPA Office concerning alleged failures by Texas State to comply with the Act. University policy explains in detail the procedures to be used in complying with the act. The policy is available at http://www.txstate.edu/registrar/. The Dean of Students and the Registrar both presume that each student is independent of his or her parents when dealing with the student’s educational records. Procedures for establishing dependency status are available in both offices.
Undergraduate Student Classification. Classification is based on cumulative hours passed, not counting hours currently enrolled.
Freshman ........................... 0-29 hours Junior ............................. 60-89 hours
Sophomore ....................... 30-59 hours Senior ................................ 90+ hours
Course Numbers. Courses listed in this catalog and in the Schedule of Classes follow a four-digit numbering system. The first digit indicates the level of the course: 1-freshman, 2-sophomore, 3-junior, 4-senior, 5- and 6-post-baccalaureate and/or masters, 7-doctoral. The second digit indicates the number of semester credit hours the course carries. The last two digits usually indicate the location of the course in the department’s curriculum. A letter (A, B, C, etc.) attached to a course number usually indicates a topics course. The numbers in parentheses following a course title indicate the clock hours per week spent in lecture and in laboratory, respectively. A course preceded by (WI) is writing intensive.
Field of Study. Field of Study means a set of courses that will satisfy the lower division requirements for a bachelor's degree in a specific academic area. Field of study curricula were mandated in Senate Bill 148 (75th Texas Legislature) and are intended, along with general education core curricula, to facilitate the free transferability of lower-division academic course credit among public colleges and universities throughout Texas. As found in Texas Education Code Chapter 61, Subchapter S, Section 61.821-61.829, field of study curricula are developed in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, along with the assistance of advisory committees composed of representatives of institutions of higher education. To date, field of study curricula have been developed in the following academic areas: Business, Computer Science, Communications, Criminal Justice, Early Childhood Education, Engineering, Engineering Technology, Grades 4-8 Teacher Certification, and Music.
Each field of study will include the lower division courses that are required before a student may enroll in upper-division courses within the degree program, and may also offer guidelines and suggestions for appropriate general education core curriculum or elective courses in addition to the courses that actually compose the field of study curriculum itself. If a student successfully completes a field of study curriculum that block of courses may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution and must be substituted for that institution's lower division requirements for the degree program for the field of study into which the student transfers, and the student shall receive full academic credit toward the degree program for the block of courses transferred. A student who transfers from one institution of higher education to another without completing the field of study curriculum of the sending institution shall receive academic credit from the receiving institution for each of the courses that the student has successfully completed in the field of study curriculum of the sending institution. Following receipt of the credit for these courses, the student may be required to satisfy further course requirements in the field of study curriculum of the receiving institution. A student concurrently enrolled at more than one institution shall follow the field of study curriculum of the institution in which the student is classified as a degree-seeking student. More information about field of study is available online at: http://www.thecb.state.tx.us.
Catalog Designation. The catalog designation a student receives when entering Texas State determines the curriculum and other academic policies that apply to the student. Catalog designations are made according to the following guidelines:
1. Students with no prior college work are assigned to the current catalog.
2. Students with prior college work:
a. Students with prior college work from out-of-state or private institutions are assigned to the current catalog.
b. Students with prior college work during the last six years, solely from Texas public institutions of higher education, are assigned to the Texas State catalog which was in effect at the time of the student’s initial college enrollment.
3. Former Texas State students (those who leave for 12 or more consecutive months and apply for readmission).
a. Former students whose initial Texas State enrollment was more than six years ago are assigned to the current catalog.
b. Former Texas State students whose initial Texas State enrollment was within the last six years and who have completed fewer than 30 hours of college work elsewhere during the interim retain their initial Texas State catalog designation.
c. Former Texas State students whose initial Texas State enrollment was within the last six years and who have completed 30 or more hours of college work elsewhere during the interim are assigned to the current catalog.
4. A college dean may change the catalog designation.
Class Attendance. Texas State expects students to attend every scheduled class meeting. General requirements for class attendance are as follows:
1. Faculty are encouraged to establish mandatory attendance requirements in each course.
2. Each faculty member will inform students of the course attendance policy at the initial class meeting.
3. Students are responsible for understanding the attendance policy for each course in which they enroll and for meeting the attendance requirements.
4. Failure to meet the attendance requirements in a course may lower a grade.
Religious Holy Days. "Religious holy day" means a holy day observed by a religion whose places of worship are exempt from property taxation under Section 11.20, Tax Code. In accordance with Texas Education Code Section 51.911, Texas State will allow a student who is absent from classes for the observance of a religious holy day to take an examination or complete an assignment scheduled for that absent day within a reasonable time after the absence if the student notifies the instructor of each class that he or she would be absent for a religious holy day. The Education Code includes excused absences for travel to and from the religious holy day observance. The student may make up class assignments or examinations without penalty within a reasonable time after the absence. Students may obtain notification forms from the Dean of Students’ Office. The student should personally deliver completed forms to the instructor for each class. The instructor will sign and date the form, thus acknowledging notification. If the student cannot personally deliver the form to an instructor, the student should mail the form to the instructor by certified mail, return receipt requested. A student who is excused under this section shall not be penalized for the absence, but the instructor may appropriately respond if the student fails to satisfactorily complete the assignment or examination within a reasonable time. Each instructor may establish additional procedures to accommodate the needs of students who are absent from classes to observe a religious holy day. These procedures must not conflict with the state law. Coordinating Board rules now provide for an appeal of a disagreement between the student and a faculty member over an absence related to a religious holy day. If a student and an instructor disagree about the nature of the absence being for the observance of a religious holy day, or if there is a disagreement about whether the student has been given a reasonable time to complete any missed assignments or examinations, either the student or the instructor may request a ruling from the President or the President’s designee. The President or the President’s designee must take into account the legislative intent of Education Code Section 51.911. The student and instructor shall abide by the decision of the President or the President’s designee. The academic dean of each college serves as the President’s designee to hear requests for decisions on these matters from either the faculty member or the student. Any questions concerning this policy should be directed to the Office of the Dean of Students.
Number of Drops – Senate Bill 1231. In 2007, the Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 1231 which provides that, except for specific instances of good cause, undergraduate students entering as first time freshmen at a Texas public institution of higher education in the fall of 2007 or later will be limited to a total of six dropped courses during their undergraduate career.
Under the new law (Texas Education Code, Sec. 51.907), “an institution of higher education may not permit a student to drop more than six courses, including any course a transfer student has dropped at another institution of higher education.” SB 1231 applies to courses dropped at public institutions of higher education in Texas, including community and technical colleges, health science centers that offer undergraduate programs, and universities.
Some courses will not count against the six-drop limit. These include courses dropped at independent or private Texas institutions, courses dropped while the student is still enrolled in high school, developmental courses, non-funded courses or courses dropped at colleges in other states.
For the purposes of this law, a “dropped course” is defined as a course that is dropped after the census date (12th class day), but before the last day to drop.
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is working with the public colleges and universities to implement this law, and this may result in updates or modifications to current definitions and procedures. Any changes will be communicated to students and posted on the Registrar’s Website.
Dropping Classes/Withdrawing from the University. Dropping a class is an official action whereby students inform Texas State that they will cease attending a class in which they are enrolled while remaining enrolled in at least one other course. Withdrawing is an official action whereby a student informs Texas State that he/she will cease attending all classes.
Automatic “W” Deadline – the deadline to receive an automatic “W” grade is the first 60% of the semester.
Drop Deadline – the deadline to drop (remaining in at least one hour) a class is the first 60% of the semester. Special deadline dates will be enforced for courses offered in a different format.
After the drop deadline, students will be unable to drop individual classes and will receive the grade (A,B,C,D,F, or I) earned in the course. When students experience documented medical or similar emergencies which preclude completion of a class, they may appeal with documentation to the chair or director of the department or school they wish to drop the class.
Withdrawal Deadline – the deadline to withdraw (go to zero hours) from Texas State is two weeks preceding final examinations during the fall and spring semesters and one week preceding final examinations during the summer sessions.
If a student is withdrawing from Texas State after the automatic “W” period, faculty assign the “W” grade only to those students who have a passing average at the time the withdrawal action is officially completed. Otherwise, faculty members will assign an “F” grade.
Grade-Point Average (GPA). Texas State utilizes the four-point system. The GPA is the total number of grade points earned divided by the number of semester hours attempted. Semester grade symbols have the following values: “A” = 4 points; “B” = 3 points; “C” = 2 points; “D” = 1 point; “F” = 0 points. Neither hours nor grades are calculated for "I", "CR", "PR", or "W". To maintain an average of "C", grade points divided by semester hours attempted must equal at least 2.00.
The Texas State GPA for all work attempted at Texas State is used to determine whether a student is meeting minimum academic standards. Beginning in the fall of 1991, this Texas State GPA will be calculated by the procedures described in the section titled “Repeating Courses” (see below).
Repeating Courses. Effective fall l991, a student may repeat a course, but cannot receive credit for the course more than once unless the course description in the catalog specifically provides that the course may be repeated for credit. When a course is repeated more than once, the second grade (first repeat) and all subsequent grades (repeats) are included in computing the Texas State hours attempted, grade points earned and GPA. “W” and “I” grades are excluded. A course taken at Texas State must be repeated at Texas State to be counted as a repeat. A course taken for transfer credit must be repeated as transfer credit to count as a repeat.
The first time that a course is repeated, fall 1991 or after, it will be calculated as if it were the first repeat of the course. Any additional repetitions will be counted as second or greater repeats. If the last grade in a repeated course is lower than an earlier grade, the last grade is used to determine whether the course fulfills university requirements.
Courses repeated prior to fall 1991 will follow the repeat policy enforced at the time the courses were taken. Prior to fall 1991, the last grade of a repeat counts, "W" and "I" grades excluded. If the last time a course is taken is from another school, that course will meet degree requirements, but the last grade at Texas State counts towards the Texas State GPA.
Minimum Academic Standards. Students must meet minimum academic standards in work completed at Texas State. Those who fail to do so are placed on academic probation or academic suspension, as appropriate. In determining whether a student is placed on probation or suspension, only grades earned at Texas State are considered.
Academic Probation. Academic probation is an emphatic warning that the quality of the student’s work has not met Texas State’s minimum academic standards and that the quality must improve during the probationary semester in order for the student to continue at Texas State. A student will be placed on academic probation at the end of the fall or spring semester in which the Texas State GPA is less than 2.00. A student will be removed from academic probation at the end of any long semester or summer term if the Texas State GPA is 2.00 or higher.
Students placed on academic probation must raise their Texas State GPA during the first probationary semester, e.g., if a student is placed on academic probation because the Texas State GPA has fallen to 1.85, at the end of the first probationary semester the Texas State GPA must be 1.86 or higher, or the student will be placed on first academic suspension. If the student raises the Texas State GPA at the end of the first probationary semester, but it is still less than 2.00, the student may continue for a second probationary semester. If the Texas State GPA is still less than 2.00 at the end of the second probationary semester, the student will be placed on first academic suspension.
Policies Governing First Academic Suspension. A first academic suspension will be for the first long semester following placement on academic suspension. Appeals for reinstatement, based on extenuating circumstances, may be made prior to the Monday of registration week to the student’s college dean or designee, who will render a decision on the matter. A student suspended from one college of Texas State may not be reinstated by the dean of another undergraduate college. Deans may, at their discretion, impose conditions regarding course load limits, work load limits, counseling, etc. If the dean denies reinstatement, the student may then appeal to the Suspension Appeals Committee. If reinstatement is allowed, the suspension notation will remain on the student’s transcript. The transcript will also show “Reinstated for___, Enters on Academic Probation. ”Unless other special conditions are imposed by the dean or the Suspension Appeals Committee, students granted reinstatement and re-admitted on academic probation, must raise their Texas State GPA at the end of the first probationary semester or be placed on academic suspension. If students raise their Texas State GPA at the end of the first probationary semester, but it remains below 2.00, they may continue their studies for a second probationary semester.
In addition to any special conditions imposed by the dean or the Suspension Appeals Committee, students must meet the conditions under “Academic Probation” explained above.
At the end of the second probationary semester, if the Texas State GPA is less than 2.00, the student will be placed on second academic suspension.
Students who are placed on first academic suspension from Texas State at the end of the spring semester will be reinstated by the registrar on academic probation for the following fall semester if they (1) attend both summer terms at Texas State, (2) pass nine semester hours, and (3) earn a 2.00 GPA on all work attempted in both terms or the student will be removed from probation if the Texas State GPA is 2.00 or greater at the end of the second summer term.
Request for Degree Audit. Request for Degree Audit. After completing 45-60 semester hours, students should request a degree audit through the college academic advising center or through their major department, as determined by college guidelines. When the audit is approved by the appropriate college dean or dean’s representative, it will list all courses required for graduation. Students also have the option to run their own unofficial audit at any time before seeing their advisor. The audit should be used to determine which courses to take at each registration. https://catsweb.txstate.edu/app/self-degree-audit
It is highly recommended that students see their Academic Advisors to review their degree audits within their last 30 hours prior to graduation. Students need to see that they have the appropriate grade-point averages in all courses taken at Texas State and in the major and minor fields of study. If any of the grade-point averages are below the minimums required for graduation, the degree audit can be used in deciding how to raise the averages in the remaining course work.
The College Dean has the final approval and appeal for all graduation requirements, including but not limited to degree audits, grade point average, courses, prerequisites, graduation application, transfer credit, residency, catalog time limit and designation.
Application for Graduation. Students must indicate their intent to graduate by applying for graduation within the first two weeks of their final long semester or summer session I for August graduation. The student must complete the degree application using the online application at: http://catsweb.txstate.edu/catsweb/ad/adwbadgra_instructions.htm. If a student fails to complete the required courses in time for a planned graduation, the student must reapply for the next graduation. Failure to apply for graduation on time may delay the awarding of the diploma until the following graduation. Because of the problem of receiving official transcripts in a timely manner, students taking off-campus courses in their final semester should make sure that the Undergraduate Admissions Office receives official transcripts as soon as they are available from the sending institution.
Minimum Degree Hours and Advanced Hours. Most undergraduate degrees at Texas State require a minimum of 120 semester hours, including 36 advanced hours (junior and senior level courses). Any degree program of 122 hours or more may be considered a five-year program.
Residency Requirements. To qualify for graduation with a bachelor’s degree, a student must complete, through Texas State coursework, at least 25 percent of the minimum number of semester hours required for the degree; within this requirement, at least 24 semester hours must be advanced and at least 12 hours of the advanced work must be completed in the major at Texas State. Additionally, at least 24 semester hours of the last 30 hours completed that are required for the degree must be taken at Texas State. Correspondence, extension, and off-
campus coursework completed through Texas State may be applied toward residency requirements. Credit-by-examination may not be applied toward residency.
Minimum Grade-Point Requirements for Graduation. Before graduating from Texas State, students must satisfy the following minimum grade requirements:
Degree programs without Teacher Certification (Texas State minimums; individual departments/schools may have higher requirements listed in their sections of this catalog):
1. A Texas State GPA of 2.00
2. A GPA of 2.25 in the major(s)
3. A GPA of 2.00 in the minor(s)
Degree programs with Teacher Certification (minimums):
1. A Texas State GPA of 2.50
2. Successful completion of student teaching
3. A grade of “C” or higher in ENG 1310 and 1320, or their equivalents
4. A grade of "C” or higher in MATH 1315 or 1319, or their equivalents (Interdisciplinary Studies Majors only)
5. A grade of “C” or higher in each course in the assigned professional education sequence
6. A grade of “C” or higher in the first and/or second teaching fields for secondary education students or in the specialization(s) and/or majors for Interdisciplinary Studies majors.
NOTE: Passing scores on the Examination for the Certification of Educators in Texas (ExCET) or Texas Examination of Educator Standards (TExES) are required for teaching certificate.
Transfer Credit from Two-Year Colleges. Texas State will apply to a degree up to 66 hours from an accredited junior/community college. (At the approval of the individual college dean, 6-8 hours may be added.) At the time of transfer, all transferable work attempted at a junior/community college will be recorded on the official transcript. If the number of hours transferred from a junior college exceeds 66, the student’s chair or director will recommend to the college dean how the student will satisfy degree requirements.